Home     About Us     Programs     Administration     News     Contact Us

Board of Directors


AdvanceSC is managed by a board of directors that is independent of Duke Energy. The board makes all funding decisions and is responsible for fund administration, including the selection and oversight of a fund administrator.

The AdvanceSC board of directors consists of members who are appointed to serve staggered three-year terms.

Board members will abstain from participating in the consideration of funding requests from any entity that is a competitor of the board member's employer or when the member may be perceived as having a conflict of interest. The board maintains a conflict of interest policy.

Board Members

  • David Beard
    Director of Energy and Natural Resources, Pacolet Milliken Enterprises, Spartanburg, S.C.
  • Carol Burdette
    President and Chief Professional Officer, United Way of Anderson County, Anderson, S.C.
  • Ned Cochrane
    Vice President and Secretary, Mount Vernon Mills,
    Mauldin, S.C.
  • Lillian Flemming
    Employment Specialist, Greenville County Schools,
    Greenville, S.C.
  • Terri Heard
    Manager, Business Incentives, Michelin North America Inc.,
    Greenville, S.C.
  • Doug Jones
    Director of Operations Support, Mitsubishi Polyester Film Inc.,
    Greer, S.C.
  • Sandy Martin
    Economic Development Manager, Duke Energy,
    Spartanburg, S.C.
  • Max Metcalf
    Manager, Communications, BMW Group North America,
    Spartanburg, S.C.
  • Susan Pretulak
    Vice President,
    Division of Economic Development & Workforce Competitiveness,
    South Carolina Technical College System,
    Columbia, S.C.
  • James Wurst, Jr.
    Account Executive, Duke Energy,
    Anderson, S.C.
  • Ron Seto
    Director of Operations, RR Donnelley, Spartanburg, S.C.
  • Daniel Young
    Director, Grants and Incentives and Executive Director,
    S.C. Coordinating Council, S.C. Department of Commerce,
    Columbia, S.C.